Skip directly to content

reviewerWEA's blog

reviewerWEA's picture

Ottawa Photos and Recap

on July 24, 2017

Ottawa Blues Festival

Ottawa, Ontario

July 16, 2017

 

Thirty-six years after playing the Canadian capital for the first time, Tom Petty & the Heartbreakers returned to Ottawa to close out the RBC Blues Festival Sunday night.

 

“Have you got your mojo working out there?” Tom asked the sold-out festival crowd before the band launched into the show-opening “Rockin’ Around With You,” the first song off the Heartbreakers’ debut album.

 

Detroit, you’re next!

 

Rockin’ Around With You

Mary Jane’s Last Dance

You Don’t Know How It Feels

Forgotten Man

I Won’t Back Down

Free Fallin’

Walls

Don’t Come

General
reviewerWEA's picture

Toronto Photos and Recap

on July 24, 2017

Air Canada Centre

Toronto, Ontario

July 15, 2017

 

Watching Steve Ferrone every night is like taking a master class in drumming.

 

The Heartbreakers’ long-time drummer from Brighton, England can be a total powerhouse on songs like “Mary Jane’s Last Dance,” “Don’t Come Around Here No More,” or “I Should Have Known It,” or he can get real quiet when a little finesse is necessary, like on “Learning to Fly” or “Wildflowers.”

 

Songs like “It’s Good to Be King,” where the band stretches out a bit and never really plays the song the exactly same way twice, is where Steve is at his best, watching

General
reviewerWEA's picture

London Photos and Recap

on July 20, 2017

2017 British Summer Time
Hyde Park
London, UK

July 9, 2017

 

Tom Petty & the Heartbreakers played their first show across the pond in five years for the final night of the 2017 British Summer Time concert series in London’s Hyde Park, topping a bill featuring Stevie Nicks, The Lumineers and The Shelters, among many more.

Before the show, the vibe was loose backstage as friend and family from all over the world gathered to wish the band well.

Just after 8 pm, Tom and the band hit the stage to a huge ovation from the nearly 60,000 packed into Hyde Park, ripping through “Rockin’ Around With You”

General
reviewerWEA's picture

Milwaukee Photos and Recap

on July 17, 2017

Summerfest 2017

Milwaukee, WI

July 5-6, 2017

 

Milwaukee’s legendary Summerfest is known the world over as “The Big Gig,” and the long-time festival on the shores of Lake Michigan definitely lived up to its reputation. Nearly 50,000 fans packed American Family Insurance Amphitheater over two nights for Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers’ 14th and 15th Summerfest appearances, more than any other amphitheater headliner in festival history.

 

Chris Stapleton returned to the 40th Anniversary tour to open both shows at Summerfest, playing two great sets and proving once again to be a great pairing

General
reviewerWEA's picture

TP Radio Schedule Week of January 23

on January 23, 2017

Monday – Janurary 23

Noon ET / 9am PT – Buried Treasure Show #234 (repeat)

9pm ET / 6pm PT – Buried Treasure Show #234 (repeat)

 

Tuesday – January 24

3pm ET / Noon PT – Buried Treasure Show #234 (repeat)

11pm ET / 8pm PT - Buried Treasure Show #234 (repeat)

 

Wednesday – January 25

8am ET / 5am PT - Buried Treasure Show #234 (repeat)

2pm ET / 11am PT – Benmont Tench Show (debut of Show 17)

6pm ET / 3pm PT – Buried Treasure Show #234 (repeat)

 

Thursday – January 26

2am ET / 11pm PT – Benmont Tench Show (Show 17)

5pm ET / 2pm PT – Buried Treasure Show #235 (repeat)

8pm ET / 5pm PT – Benmont

Buried Treasure

Pages